Game day(s)

It has been a while since I watched a game on television leave alone go to a stadium, and probably would never have ventured out to buy $49 tickets to watch baseball, a game I have only recently made acquaintance of. Coming from a country where football refers to soccer and the nation’s cricket team is revered as much as any of the numerous deities, softball and baseball would definitely take a back seat in my life. That said, yesterday, I not only watched the Astros vs. Dodgers game at Minute Maid Park and immensely enjoyed it, but have been playing softball for my company and am lovin’ it!

Minute Maid Park, Houston, TX - Home of the Astros

Cricket at Wankhede stadium aeons ago having faded from my memory, I had forgotten how impressive a stadium could be… The throngs of people heading toward a single venue, the flags, the music and banners, faces of spectators painted to show their support for a favorite team, the applause and the “Boos”, and finally the green, green field.

Although the game was slower than I would have liked it to be after a long day at work, the catered food and drinks and the people I went with more than made up for it. I would recommend watching one of these games live, simply to experience the sheer energy in the stadium if not anything else.

Softball however, was a whole different “ball game”. I, being a neophyte and oblivious to the rules, had to be led through the entire game by a member of my team. And what’s worse? I learnt it “on the job”, swinging the bat and running for first base on cues of “Run, Rock Star! Run!”. The pitcher of the opposite team felt sorry and actually asked that I move two steps to position myself correctly to “bat”. I cannot help but have a sneaky feeling that I am the weakest link in the team, but I wouldn’t stop going to one of these till the season’s up. The reason? I always, always make contact with the ball! The things that does to my grinning self-esteem! Yaaay! Only now, it rains in Houston everyday with no consideration for the likes of me. And hence, I cannot help but have a sneaky feeling that the Universe conspires against me and my softball. And my free beers after the game.

2 Comments

  1. Excuse me, where did you get the image of the stadium? I’m using it in a project and I need to give credit where credit is due. ^___^

  2. In addition to this, the majority of match day revenue at the International Stadium is made by Gateshead Council rather than the football club.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

